Gadabout…or not

So it sounds like I’m some gadabout (as my great-grandmother would say) Because I have the luxury of being able to get a home in a country as beautiful as Italy. The reality though is much more real. A year ago my wonderful father-in-law passed away, I feel so lucky to have had him in my life for 14 years, he truly was the dad I never had.

Anyway, I’m not saying this for sympathy, just so you know a bit about the how and well the why is because let’s be honest, it’s Italy!
So our pre-trip mornings generally consist of indulging in way too much caffeine and checking out our daily notifications from the Immobiliare.it app (brilliant app by the way) they randomly pop up new homes/flats for sale in the area of our choosing, however being in Chicago and romanticising the areas around Rome is a bit bonkers and believe me I’ve got somewhat carried away. Please imagine roughly 10 daily notifications popping up with anything between 2-100 new juicy morsels of properties to peruse. Yep, you’ve guessed it I’m lost! But they’re so pretty! I’m also working with a small budget so that I can put my “stamp” on it, oh and not break the bank! The options are amazing, the question is, do we find one that needs lots of work (and maybe equal amounts of vino to get through it?) or one that is superficial work. A wall down here, new tiles there. See these images and feel my plight!

Above is one that needs a LOT of work, but is so gorgeous, just look at those ceilings and pillars, insert dramatic sigh. And below are a few of the more “done options”


Let me also point out that even though I’m leaving to join my lovely husband in Rome on Thursday, he will be returning for work just 3 short weeks later. Also being the longest time we’ve ever had apart as my ticket is until August 26th! And I will have my two little helpers with me, my 8 year old son and my 5 year old daughter. See I told you I was possibly certifiable!

So please watch this space, learn from my mistakes and hopefully find your own love for Flipping Italy

Leave a Reply

